The Learning, Equity & Accelerated Pathways (LEAP) Task Force

In February 2021 Commissioner Angélica Infante-Green announced the Learning, Equity & Accelerated Pathways (LEAP) Task Force who convened and engaged in a participatory, evidence-informed, data-driven process to understand impact on Rhode Island student learning in partnership with educational experts, practitioners, families, students and community members across the State of Rhode Island. A cross-departmental team at RIDE worked to support the Task Force and will oversee the implementation of its recommendations. Additionally, national researchers with expertise in various aspects of accelerated learning recovery were invited to the Task Force meetings to share evidence and support discussions.

To address ongoing concerns with Rhode Island’s learning recovery, the Task Force focused on, but was not limited to, the following goals: 

  1. Assess the conditions of learning loss in the schools and communities across Rhode Island;
  2. Identify research-based, high leverage strategies for equitable learning recovery; and
  3. Establish strategic focus for learning recovery in Rhode Island and align stimulus funding to identified priorities.

The Task Force provided a forum for collective learning from national experts and interaction and feedback from state-wide stakeholders on the collective learning recovery challenge we face across the state. The Task Force recommendations have been presented to Commissioner Infante-Green on the priorities and the strategic direction of our educational recovery work in Rhode Island. The final LEAP Task Force Report is available here

The Task Force recommendations informed this year’s EnrollRI programming administered through the All Course Network. Expanded education and enrichment opportunities were a top priority for the Task Force throughout the process.

All meetings are recorded on RIDE's YouTube page. Below are the meeting topics of the Task Force:

Meeting Date Meeting Time  Meeting Topic
February 11th  11:30-1:30pm   Task Force Launch: Remarks from the Commissioner, the Governor-designate, Chair Cottam, and a keynote Address from the 10th U.S. Secretary of Education, John King
February 16th 8:30-10:00am Understanding Root Causes: Academic and non-academic data and key analytical insights ​from Curriculum Associates, Renaissance Learning and Scott Gausland (RIDE) 
February 23rd 8:30-10:00am Expanded Learning Opportunities with Dr. Jennifer McCombs, RAND & Dr. Matthew Kraft, Brown University
March 2nd 8:30-10:00am Serving the Needs of Diverse Populations with Dr. Marc Brackett, Yale University, Dr. Madeline Mavrogordato, MSU & Dr. Nathan Jones, Boston University 
March 9th 2:00-4:00pm Thinking through a Whole-of-System Response via an Equity Lens of with Dr. Kenneth Wong, Dr. Pedro Noguera and Paul Reville)
March 16th 8:30-10:30am Deliver draft recommendations of Task Force to Commissioner Infante-Green
March 23rd  8:30-10:30am  Deliver revised recommendations of the Task Force to Commissioner Infante-Green

Members of the Task Force included:

  • Angélica Infante-Green, Commissioner, RIDE
  • Victor Capellan, Senior Advisor to the Commissioner
  • Ana Riley, Deputy Commissioner for Instructional Programs (co-chair)
  • Jim Erinakes, Exeter-West Greenwich School Department (co-chair)
  • Dr. Kelvin Roldán, Deputy Commissioner for System Transformation
  • Alex Molina, City Year
  • Andrew Bramson, College Crusade of Rhode Island
  • Angelo Garcia, Segue Institute for Learning
  • Ashley Adamson, RI Teacher Of the Year, Portsmouth
  • Charmaine Webster, Parent, Woonsocket
  • Dr. Anthony Rolle, University of Rhode Island, College of Education
  • Dr. Jonathon Brice, Bristol-Warren Regional School Department
  • Dr. Julia Rafal-Baer, Chiefs for Change
  • Dr. Kenneth Wong, Brown University, Department of Education
  • Dr. Nate Schwartz, Brown University, Annenberg Institute
  • Dr. Renee Palazzo, Ponaganset High School, Scituate
  • Dr. Soljane Martinez, Brown University, Annenberg Institute
  • Hillary Salmons, Providence After School Alliance
  • Hon. Joseph McNamara, Rhode Island House of Representatives
  • Hon. Sandra Cano, Rhode Island Senate
  • Jennifer Wood, Rhode Island Center for Justice
  • Jeremy Chiappetta, Blackstone Valley Prep
  • Jim Vincent, Providence NAACP
  • Juan Carlos Payero, Portsmouth School Committee
  • Juanita Montes de Oca, Generation Citizen
  • Khechara Bradford, Providence Public Schools
  • Larry Warner, United Way of Rhode Island
  • Marcela Betancur, Latino Policy Institute
  • Mario Bueno, Progreso Latino
  • Neil Steinberg, Rhode Island Foundation
  • Paige Clausius-Parks, Rhode Island Kids Count
  • Ramona Santos Torres, Parent, Providence
  • Sam Salganick, Rhode Island Parent Information Network
  • Sean Doyle, RIFTHP Member, Teacher in West Warwick
  • Sue Warburton, NEA-RI Member, Teacher in North Kingstown
  • Tammy Warner, RI Office of Postsecondary Commissioner

Additional questions or comments may be sent to for assistance.