Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

This prestigious national awards program is intended to increase status and rewards for demonstrated professionalism, including leadership, in the areas of mathematics and science teaching so that individuals of high quality will be encouraged to enter and remain in the field of teaching.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) administers the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching (PAEMST) for the White House, which began the program in 1983 to improve teaching in mathematics and the sciences.  Elementary-level teachers have been included in the program since 1990. Each year, the program honors outstanding mathematics and science teachers throughout the United States and its territories in recognition of:

  • high-quality classroom performance;
  • the effects teachers have on students; and
  • the teacher's personal and professional goals.

During its first decade, the PAEMST program has received significant favorable national attention and recognition while expanding its scope to embrace elementary-school teachers as well as middle/secondary-school teachers of mathematics and science.

After a rigorous state-level screening and selection process, the state finalists are again screened at the national level before Presidential Awardees are named to represent the states, territories, and jurisdictions covered by the PAEMST program.

Current State Finalists

2024 PAEMST State Finalist Awaiting National Review


Stacy Gale, RI PAEMST Science Finalist for 2024
Group photo with Stacy Gale
Stacy Gale, center, is recognized as the 2024 PAEMST State Finalist for Science



2023 PAEMST State Finalists Awaiting National Review


  • Marissa HudsonToll Gate High SchoolWarwick Public Schools
  • Kerry Johnson, Lincoln High School, Lincoln Public Schools
  • Stephen Levesque, Burrillville High School, Burrillville Public Schools


  • Amy Biagioni, Exeter-West Greenwich Regional High School, Exeter-West Greenwich Regional School District


2022 PAEMST State Finalist Awaiting National Review


  • Heidi FeeCharlestown Elementary


2021 PAEMST State Finalist Awaiting National Review


  • Donna MaCaddenNarragansett High School, Narragansett School System
  • Paul RuhleLincoln High School, Lincoln Public Schools


  • Bryan ColahanTiverton High School, Tiverton School District
  • Rachel RobergeScituate High School, Scituate Public Schools


Presidential Awardees

2020 National Awardees

Nicole Lemire

Nicole Lemire

Samuel Slater Middle School
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
2020 Award | K-6 Science

Nicolle Greene

Nicolle (Nikki) Greene

Holliman Elementary
Warwick, Rhode Island
2020 Award | K-6 Mathematics

Past National Awardees

Past State Finalist by Content Area