Transforming Education in Rhode Island All Students Ready for Success in College, Careers, and Life The Race to the Top Opportunity

Race to the Top Steering Committee Membership	
Co-Chairs	
Colleen Jermain	Providence Public Schools
Neil Steinberg	RI Foundation
Education Field	
Colleen Mercurio	RI Assoc. of School Principals
Patricia Hines	RI Assoc. of School Principals
Bernie DiLullo	RI Assoc. for Supervision and Curriculum Development
William Fasano	RI Middle Level Educators
Jean Harnois	RI Assoc. School Committees
Katie Miller	RI Society of Technology Educators
Lori Miller	RI Assoc. of School Business Officials
Patricia Page	Current Teacher of the Year*
Marielle Emet	Current Milken Winner*
Michael Hobin	Current High School Principal of the Year*
Richard Drolet	Current Middle School Principal of the Year
Renee Palazzo	Current Assistant Principal of the Year
Lori DeSimone	Current Outstanding First Year Principal
Carolyn Sheehan	RI League of Charter Schools
Frank Flynn	RI Federation of Teachers and Health Professionals
Larry Purtill	National Education Association RI
Patrick Crowley	National Education Association RI
Steve Smith	Providence Teachers Union
Civic Leadership	
Christina Batastini	Office of the Governor
Daniel Beardsley	RI League of Cities and Towns
Angel Taveras, represented by:	Mayor of Providence
TO BE NAMED	
Daniel McKee, represented by	RI Mayoral Academies, Mayor of Cumberland
Barbara Goodrich	
Teresa Paiva Weed, represented	President of the RI Senate
by Marie Ganim/Karen Lowe	
Gordon Fox, represented by Beth	Speaker of the RI House of Representatives
Cotter/Joseph Solomon Jr.	
Lisa Tomasso	Representative, RI House of Representatives
Christine Smith	RI Science and Technology Advisory Council; RI Economic Development Corp.
Higher Education	
Daniel Egan	Assoc. of Independent Colleges and Universities - RI
Warren Simmons	Annenberg Institute for School Reform

Transforming Education in Rhode Island All Students Ready for Success in College, Careers, and Life The Race to the Top Opportunity

Gail Mance-Rios	RI Higher Education Assistance Authority
Business Leaders	
Janet Raymond	Greater Providence Chamber of Commerce
John Simmons	RI Public Expenditure Council
Arthur Robbins	Robbins Properties
Ned Handy	Citizens Bank
Jim Musgrave	Roberts, Carroll, Feldstein, and Pierce
Karen Pelczarski	Blish and Cavanagh
Al Potter	Gilbane Building Company
Andrew Prete	Nortek
Ronald Thalheimer	Fidelity Institutional
Arthur DeBlois	Tameracq Partners
Joseph Beretta	RGB Architects
Dan Sullivan	Collette Vacations
Community/Advocacy Group	S
Mario Bueno	Progreso Latino
Elizabeth Burke Bryant	RI Kids Count
Maryellen Butke	Principal, MEB
Karen Feldman	Young Voices
Dennis Langley	Urban League
To be named	RI Parent Information Network
Patrick McGuigan	Providence Plan
Adeola Oredola	Youth in Action
Michael Van Leesten	Unity Coalition of RI

* Previous representatives of these recognition programs continue to participate in RTT Steering Committee activities.

- Yanaiza Gallant, 2013 Milken Winner
- Jessica Waters, 2013 Teacher of the Year
- Julie Lima Boyle, 2012 Teacher of the Year
- Dennis Mullen, 2011 Principal of the Year
- Patti DiCenso, 2010 Principal of the Year
- Michael Lobdell, 2011 Milken Winner
- Dale Blaess, 2010 Milken Winner
- Robert Mitchell, RI Association of School Principals